sessional indemnity of a member of the Legislature is \$4,000 together with an expense allowance of \$2,000. Each of the members for the three northernmost constituencies of Cumberland, Athabasca and Meadow Lake receives a \$4,335 sessional indemnity and a \$2,165 expense allowance.

## 30.—Legislatures of Saskatchewan, 1945-67, as at June 30, 1967

Norm.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 81; for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 116; and for 1935-44 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 89.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of	
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
June 15, 1944 June 24, 1948 June 11, 1952 June 20, 1956 June 8, 1960 Apr. 22, 1964	10th	5 5 4 4 6	Oct. 19, 1944 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 12, 1953 Feb. 14, 1957 Oct. 11, 1960 Feb. 4, 1965	May 19, 1948 May 7, 1952 Apr. 25, 1956 May 4, 1960 Mar. 18, 1964	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at June 30, 1967.

## 31.-Tenth Ministry of Saskatchewan, as at June 30, 19671

(Party standing at latest General Election, Apr. 22, 1964: 33 Liberal, 25 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 1 Progressive Conservative.)

Office	Name		Date of Appointment		
Premier, President of the Executive Council and Provincial Treasurer. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Public Health and Minister of Industry and Commerce. Attorney General and Provincial Secretary. Minister of Mineral Resources and Minister of Tele- phones.	Hon, G. B. GRANT	July	5, 18, 22, 22,	1965 1966 1964	
Minister of Education. Minister of Highways and Transportation. Minister of Welfare. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Labour and Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development. Minister of Public Works.	Hon. G. J. Traff. Hon. D. Boldt. Hon. C. P. MacDonald. Hon. J. C. McIsaac.  Hon. L. P. Coderre. Hon. J. W. Gardiner. Hon. D. G. Steuart.	May Oct. Oct. July May May	22, 18, 18, 5, 22, 22,	1964 1966 1966 1964 1964	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Ministry following the General Election of Oct. 11, 1967 is given in an Appendix to this volume.

## Subsection 9.—Alberta

The Government of Alberta is composed of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1905) to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 116; since that date the office has been held by the Hon. J. Percy Page, commissioned to office Dec. 19, 1959, followed by the Hon. J. W. Grant MacEwan, commissioned in January 1966.

There are 65 members in the Legislative Assembly, elected for a maximum period of five years. Premiers since Confederation are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 117; the present Premier assumed office in 1943.

Each member of the Legislative Assembly (except the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker and the Leader of the Opposition) receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,600 plus \$1,800 expense allowance plus \$15 for each day during the session when the member is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence, both tax free. The Speaker's sessional indem-